Responses

I overheard a conversation yesterday that went something like this:

Woman: You look like you have lost some weight.

Man: (excitedly) Yes!  I have been able to lose 10 pounds so far!  I gained so much weight after I quite smoking that I decided I had to watch my diet, and begin a new exercise routine!

Woman: Oh! Men lose weight so easily!  My husband can lose five pounds watching a sports program.  Women have to really work at it.

Wrong answer.  How many women really believe that it’s that easy for men to lose weight?  If it was that easy, they’d all be skinny.  Take a look at the men around you and tell me how many of them are skinny.

While it’s easier for men to lose weight than for women, that doesn’t mean it’s easy.  The man above made major changes to his diet and lifestyle in order to live a more healthy life, and the woman dismissed it with a joke.  The correct response is something along the lines of, “You’re looking great!  Keep up the good work!  I wish you the best with this!”

The response given by the woman above did not gain her any sympathy points.  On the contrary, it made her sound like a self-centered whiner. 

Okay, that’s my rant for the week.

One Response

  1. It’s not just women who have that impression. I mentioned to a male friend the other day that I had ramped up my already rigorous diet and exercise program in a so far unsuccessful attempt to lose seven pounds. He thought he could lose that much in two days, easy. So am I whining or is he gloating? I know it’s not the same as the conversation you heard. But speaking as a woman, you can get so overwhelmed at the difficulty of shedding a pound even while making major diet and lifestyle changes that it’s hard not to have an ungracious gut reaction. For all we know, his diet change was giving up dessert one night a week.

Leave a Reply

